An after-dinner date after Valentine’s Day

It wasn’t too late. I didn’t have one on the 14th but at least I had a date after my dinner last Wednesday, a day after the Valentine’s Day.

I went home early that afternoon, watched the news, and took my dinner. Minutes passed after caressing my stomach, I decided to freshen up. That’s right. I should not forget my hygiene especially before going to bed. I could still feel my stomach that I put away my pillow and grabbed my laptop. Yes. I ended up to a date with my laptop and Fireproof is the movie that was.

“Fireproof doesn’t mean that fire will never come, but that when it comes, you’ll be able to withstand it,” one character in the movie said.

I had never thought but the movie was beyond the story of firemen risking their lives to stop fires to save lives and property. It was also about risking ones pride, addictions, and worldly attachments to save relationships, even an almost failed marriage.

In this month when people take special time to celebrate love with each one’s partner and special loved ones, I believe it is also a must to take special time to review how one and the other should fireproof their relationship, for couples – their marriage.

No, you’re right. I am no expert. I don’t have any degree for this particular topic or any experience in marriage. I don’t even have significant years of experience in a boy-girlfriend relationship. I am just to share to the memorable precious love-lines I listened to in my ‘after-dinner date after Valentine’s Day’.

My present credentials may not give enough merit for this article to be intended for the old couples and not-so old ones but I would have them as my main audience still because I go with inspirational speaker and Toastmaster Jef Menguin who said, in one of his blogs, that we should not say, “You can’t teach old dogs new tricks.” because people are not dogs and we are not teaching tricks – we teach ideas and principles of life.

Oh, well. So as not to talk much on credibility, let me just go on and share some lines from the movie for you and for me to read through and live with to fireproof our relationships – for the singles just like me, to fireproof our future marriage.

“…Although love is communicated in a number of ways, our words often reflect the condition of our heart. For the next day, resolved to say nothing negative to your spouse at all. If the temptation arises, she is not to say anything. It is better to hold your tongue than to say something you’re going to regret.

‘Be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to get angry.’ – James 1:19

…It is difficult to demonstrate love when you feel little to no motivation. But love in its truest sense, is not based on feelings but a determination to show thoughtful actions even when there seems to be no reward.

Do at least one unexpected gesture as an act of kindness.

…Whatever you put your time, energy, and money into will become more important to you. It’s hard to care for something you’re not investing in.

Buy your wife something that says you were thinking of her today.

…Pray for her.

…Listen to her.

…Study her again.

When a man is trying to win the heart of a woman, he studies her. He learns her likes, dislikes, habits, and hobbies. But after he wins her heart and marries her, he often stops learning about her. If the man studies her before marriage was equal to a high school degree, he should continue to learn about her until he gains a college degree, a master’s degree, and ultimately a doctorate degree. It is a lifelong journey that draws his heart ever closer to hers.”

Yes; and the words clearly speak for themselves.

Let me just end this and say,

Save your relationship. Save your life.

Fireproof your marriage with the new FaD, F-idelity and F-aithfulness, a-nd D-ivinity. These three goes together. Divinity doesn’t mean you need to be pastor or priest or saint. It plainly means, living in God’s ways.

With this new FaD, we turn away from the old FAD, F-alse, A-spirations, and D-esires.

These, I no longer elaborate.

It was a question on my part to go on with this article in its content…

…with it is a great challenge to everyone.

It is something that shall be done.

It is meant for life.

PS: I am giving out a wonderful ebook this February 2012. Grab it now at www.sixstrings-youngmind.weebly.com

Join FamilyReborn.com

4 thoughts on “An after-dinner date after Valentine’s Day

What can you say about this post?

