Stop Begging

I took the usual route going home today.I walked about 7 minutes to the main avenue to take a jeep. From there, I took the one to our place.

Three minutes just after I got a seat in a jeepney, there’s this boy who came with some envelopes in his hand and started begging from all passengers.

I pity this boy. I would like to give but I didn’t and I have decided not to. I don’t want to support his venture – begging!

Sadly, most of us are sometimes like that begging boy who, instead of working his butt off to earn, he ends up begging here and there.

Sometimes we are like beggars. We shouldn’t!

We want to graduate from college but we do not take the effort to read those thick, fat books.

We want to get a job but we do not want to write our resume.

We want to make a wonderful first impression but we do not prepare for the interview.

We want to earn this much but we do not work that much.

We envy people of eloquence but we do not make the effort to speak.

We mimic the harvests of wealthy people but we do not emulate their hard work.

We want to gather the grains but we do not sow seeds.

That boy has the ability to work, he has the mind to learn, and the potential to prosper.

Unfortunately, he chose to beg. He chose the easy but crooked way.

Maybe, he can blame the society. Maybe, it wasn’t his choice at all. Maybe, it was what he thought was right due to his upbringing.

Perhaps, it wasn’t his fault. But I hope that he will soon learn and make the right choice.

At times that I encounter these kids, I whisper a short prayer – “God, bless them.”

But I think God already blessed them – it’s just that they do not receive it.

For us who are informed of these things, may we choose not to go for the easy-crooked way. May we choose to do the right thing – though it may be tough and hard.

It is my personal prayer that I may be able to do the right thing – even though how hard it may seem. I might fail but I try it anyway.

I hope you join me in this way.
I hope we stop begging.

Start sowing.
Start tilling the soil.
Start speaking.
Start learning.
Start listening.
Start investing.
Start working.
And start receiving an avalanche of blessings.

Live life,

Chris Dao-anis

PS: I do personally write to myself. If this message resonates with you, feel free to share it and/or drop a comment below.

God bless!

3 thoughts on “Stop Begging

What can you say about this post?

