Move to Greater Things

Being great at a certain level can sometimes limit you to move onto greatness even more. This happens when you get comfortable and addicted that you do not want to stretch any longer. You shouldn’t because you are called to greater things by your Great Creator.

I like the analogy used by Bo Sanchez in his opening talk of this year’s Kerygma Conference. He related a dialog when his wife was teaching their son, Francis, on how to count.

Mom Marowe: Francis, count 1 to 100.
Baby Francis: But I can only count 1 to 10.

Mom Marowe explained, “If you can count 1 to 10, you can count 1 to 100. Why? Because after 10, you just have to go back to 1 but now, on a higher level.”

Then Baby Francis moved to 11…. then 12… then 13… then on and on and on… up to 100.”

Does that make sense to you? It made a lot of sense to me.

If you want to progress up to 100, you must learn to surrender your being 10 and be at 1 – but now on a higher level. In this way, you move yourself to the top. You take yourself to greatness.

When I was in high school, I often represented my school at the Division Level. It may be a math quiz, science quiz, or campus journalism contest. In one or two cases, I won. But 99% of the time, I lost.

At the school level, I was one of the best. At the division level, I wasn’t. I felt sad because I hadn’t been winning trophies for the school even if I had been out to represent her in various occasions.

But now I realize that everytime I left my comfort zone where I was a “10” and expose myself to my courage zone where I was a “1”, I was moving myself to greater things.

This pushed me to become better. All the while I had been thinking that I already reached my full potential but not really. I may have reached the peak, but that is just on a certain level. On another view, I was at the bottom of the second level.

There is always a higher level. There is always something greater. And we are to strive for this because we called to greater things.

St. Irenaeus said, “The glory of God is man fully alive.” And everytime man moves to greater things, he moves to living his life to the full – ultimately glorifying God, the Great Creator of great creations.

So again, remember this:

You are a grandeur of God’s creation and you called to greater things.

Don’t get stuck!

Move to greater things.

Live your life, young mind!

Chris Dao-anis

PS: If this message resonates with you, feel free to comment below or share this to your friends.

If you haven’t signed up yet, join other young minds receiving automatic updates for free. Subscribe here at our homepage.

What can you say about this post?

