Peace comes from within

Two days ago, one of my officemates approached me and said, “You look different today.” And she meant something better, and more handsome probably (ahem, pardon me).

I’m not sure of what she noticed about me. “You have a brighter aura,” she said. “Hmmm, maybe you’ve got a girlfriend now, huh?” (which is not, by the way. I’m just too young for that yet, haha.)

I have no reason to tell her that day.

Perhaps, I was rejuvenated during the Holy Week. Perhaps, I was refueled by the books I’ve read (I just finished reading The Charge by Brendon Burchard, and How to Do the Impossible by Bo Sanchez). Perhaps, I was refreshed after listening to this meditative video on Youtube; I also just watched the first part of the video The Shift by Dr. Wayne Dyer. Or perhaps, it is just the way it is.

Surely, all these books, talks, meditation, and vacation help in bringing peace to us but they only work with the drive that comes from within us.

Peace comes from within. Yes, it can be revamped by outside positive forces but it has to get the cooperation of your intention to flourish the peace inside of you.

The Challenge in Achieving Peace

In these days of stress, tension, and pressures, it is easy to lose the peacefulness we have. Being employed in the corporate world, I face these challenges a lot everyday. But I’ve got to choose to be intentional about how I respond to things, to people, and to events.

Definitely, it’s not easy. It comes with an immense effort. But it’s better to exert effort than to lose yourself in anxiety and anger.

There are times that I lose control. There are times that my ears just seem to burn. There are times that the peace within seemed to be nowhere.

But thanks to all these outside positive forces (good books, powerful podcasts, and wonderful music among others). With these, the peacefulness that comes from within is revitalized.

Be intentional with the things you surround yourself with and let these amplify the peacefulness inside of you.

And since peace comes from within, you don’t have to chase it. You don’t have to look for it. You don’t have to go into the wild and find it in the open.

Just find time to be with yourself and feel the peace that comes from within. While the big part comes internally, you may be needing help externally. That’s why there are good books, there are precious pieces from wise speakers, and there are recordings that we can get for free or for fee.

Peace is In You

“Peace be with you,” says Jesus.

Yes, you already have it. Fuel it. Receive more of it.

A Tool to Stay at Peace

And to end this post, let me end with the ever famous Serenity Prayer that helped the world in its own ways (Wikipedia says it’s from by the American theologian Reinhold Niebuhr).

Join me say this prayer today and make this as one of your tools to stay at peace:

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to see the difference.”

Live your life, young mind!

Chris Dao-anis

PS: One of the keys that fuels my inner peace is this – every Sunday, I go to the Philippine International Convention Center to attend the Feast, the weekly Catholic prayer meeting of the Light of Jesus Family founded by Bo Sanchez. It starts with a mass followed by songs of worship and a powerful preaching. I usually attend the 8AM session. If you don’t like that early, there are sessions at 9:30AM, 10:45AM, 2:00PM, and 3:45PM. Try it out and see the blessings it can give you. (Free admission!)

“Peace be with you.”

4 thoughts on “Peace comes from within

  1. odette

    To God be the Glory….i was touch with this line of yours kabsat- it’s better to exert effort than to lose yourself in anxiety and anger..

    keep it up!!!

  2. ill respond here!

    Thank you for the serenity prayer! =D

    Ahhh! Wayne Dyer, I was into his works last year – that is also the year that “the shift” happened to my life! Read on more of his works, and be excited, be very excited!

    1. Chris Dao-anis

      You are welcome and thanks also for sharing one of his videos last year on FB. That was the time I first watched Wayne Dyer and now, I do find and watch more of his videos with intention.
      God bless!

What can you say about this post?

