What Have You Become in the Process

.
She was seated in front of me and said,

“You may have had been able to push the project forward but what have you become in the process? Do you think the people around you started to like you or otherwise? In the process of achieving a goal, what have you become?”

[Image courtesy of Prakairoj / FreeDigitalPhotos.net]

These were not her exact words but those were my personal translation of the words she said. I am thankful that she gave me at that very moment a very important realization.

That as we achieve our goals in life – in career or business – we should remember that at the end of all these, it is not the achievement that matters; it is the person that we have become that matters.

This is true whether you may be in the employment world or business arena. It does so in the field of personal finance.

Jim Rohn said, “After you become a millionaire, you can give all of your money away because what’s important is not the million dollars; what’s important is the person you have become in the process of becoming a millionaire.”

In this experience that I am sharing, I was not in the direct process of making millions. I was in the process of just doing my job to propel the project into the phases it has been planned to be.

As I take a look back, there was a significant progress. In fact, I consider my contribution in the process as one of the huge factors that led to my promotion in just a short time. Somehow, I have helped in its progress. There are still a lot issues and challenges in it but if you take a look at where it was two years ago, you would see how it moved in the timeline or Gantt Chart if would want to draw one.

I would not regret my contribution to it. I would not regret how I progressed in my skill development and say, in my career. I would not regret how I reiterated to those concerned that there were things that must be done.

But there are a lot of things I wish I would have done.

I wish I was kinder in my words. I wish I was more friendly in my approaches. I wish I was more person-oriented rather than procedure-oriented.

I had committed a lot of mistakes. Now that I realized those ones, I resolve to do otherwise.

I know it won’t be easy. But I strive to do so anyway.

I am sharing it today because I’d like to be accountable of this resolution to the universe. Yes, that big!

In the process, I cling to the guidance and love of the Lord and the help of friends, family, and mentors.

I am sharing this as well so that if you have committed the same or similar mistakes as mine, you would take these resolutions and see how you can employ these in you life.

At the end of the day, you and I need to become better persons in the process – this is what matters.

On the side, no – not on the side. Part of the core of all this — I’d like to thank the weekly gathering that I’ve been attending since 2011. It is called The Feast, led by none other than Bo Sanchez. He is the person who also preaches to the world to prioritize relationships before rules. His teachings in the guidance of God’s word led me into this realization. My exposure to this teaching ignited the realization I had while I was having the conversation with my staff that fateful morning.

It facilitated my learning through time.

Of course, there were a lot of factors that contributed to this realization. But these ones, were the most recent and somehow triggered this important learning.

In closing, I’d like to raise the invitation to myself and to you to reflect on what person we are becoming in the process of achieving our goals.

It is my hope that we strive to become better persons no matter how hard it is to be.

Because at the end of the day, this is what matters! Not the goals, not the millions – but the person that we have become in the process.

.

Live your life, young mind!

Chris Dao-anis

What can you say about this post?

