I Found a Gem in My Laundry

I am a man and I do my laundry.

Yes, some people could not reconcile the two.

When you say man and laundry, to some some, it’s like coffee and cooking oil. I don’t know why.

I like doing my laundry. But due to some restrictions in time and space, I don’t do all my laundry.

I would be asking the laundry woman to pick up a bag while I keep those that I prefer to be hand washed. And I hand wash them. The rest goes to the laundry shop, to their washing machine, and then back to me.

[Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net]

This evening, I was once again doing my laundry.

What I love about doing my laundry is not the fact that I’m doing my laundry but the fact that I get to think and reflect while doing my laundry.

While doing my laundry, I don’t analyze the clothes, the dirt or the detergent. What I do is that while my hands are busy washing, my mind enjoys thinking and reflecting and pondering and dreaming and planning and imagining and getting ready for that next big thing!

I just love it. And tonight, guess what I have after doing my laundry –

Aside from clean clothes for drying ready for the upcoming week, I also now have the title of my next book.

I was able write it and edit it while doing my laundry. Yes, I did it in my mind.

And now I’m happy with a finished laundry and finished title.

And once again, I validated that from mundane tasks, magical things can come out.

Yes, you can generate big blessings from tiny things!

.
Live your life, young mind!

Chris Dao-anis

2 thoughts on “I Found a Gem in My Laundry

What can you say about this post?

