I Was an Ambivalent Author

“I want to publish a book… But wait, perhaps when I grow old. But can’t I do it now while I’m still young?”

I was a hopeful yet hesitant author. I was hopeful to publish a book someday but I was hesitant to share my writings to the public.

I was afraid of being judged and rejected. “What if they judge me and not just my book? They say that a book is not judged by its cover. But it is judged by its cover and content! What if they judge the author too?”

My thoughts were conflicted. I was an ambivalent author.

Yet to write and publish a book, that was my dream.

That dream was put aside as I pursued my studies in accountancy and became a CPA. While I was hesitant to make myself and my works public, at least my PRC ID is so public – it reads Certified Public Accountant!

In January 2010, I started working as an associate in one of the top professional firms in Makati City. I was enjoying my work as an auditor that I almost forgot my longing to become a published author.

While I was reading an article about preparing powerful presentations, I stumbled upon an international organization called Toastmasters. The article said that Toastmasters is an avenue where you can enhance your public speaking skills.

“I wanted to become a public speaker!” an inner voice shouted.

So I visited a Toastmasters Club. And in June 2010, I became a Toastmaster. I started delivering speeches. I didn’t notice that I got back to writing. Before I deliver my speeches, I would write them.

In several events, I met public speakers, published authors and bloggers.

“I want to be like them!” an inner voice shouted again.

So comes the question, “What are they doing?”

Then came the answer, “They make their works public. Isn’t that obvious?”

In July 7, 2010, a light bulb flashed in my young mind as I revisited my first speech in Toastmasters. I rewrote it, edited it and made it a blog post.

The next day, there was a comment. It said, “I enjoyed reading your post.” Another comment reads, “Wow! It makes me shed tears…”

I didn’t know that such simple article could stir a heart, shed a tear, and start an idea. I realized that the reward was so riveting, way much reverberating than the risk of rejection.

I continued writing small pieces. Little did I know that those small pieces would turn into something big.

In December 2013, I published my first book ‘The Gift of the Ordinary.’ I was giving out copies to family and friends. Weeks later, people were buying it. They loved it. They say they were moved, inspired and empowered. Some would even ask, “When is your next book coming out?”

I was awed by how it was welcomed by the readers. My ambivalence began to dwindle.

In December 2014, I published my second book ‘7 Keys to Achieve Your Aspirations.’ The limited publication was sold out. This year, I will be publishing my third book.

Sometimes I ask, “Is this worth publishing. This is not totally new. Will they even bother reading it?”

But in my years of conversing with readers and audiences, I learned that what I share to them coupled with my personal story can be impactful. And what you think is a common knowledge is not actually common. And sadly, a common knowledge often times is not a common practice.

Everything that has to be written has already been written. So why write? Write because your story, your voice is unique. The impact you can make is different from that of others. That is your role. That is your spot in the greater scheme of things. Thus, if you are called to write, write. Speak. Sing. Serve. Defend. Protect. Teach. Whatever it is you are called to do, do it! For me, it is to speak, to teach and to write.

My books are not perfect but they have pushed persons to progress in their personal projects. Even if that person is only one, I say that is success with significance.

I have published two books. This year, it will be my third. And I will continue to write and publish books.

I was an ambivalent author. But with what I have experienced, with the supportive people around, and with the grace of God that abounds, from being an ambivalent author – I am now an aimful author. Surely not perfect, but purposeful. I aim to write to empower.

This is Chris Dao-anis, at your service!

 

Live your life, young mind!

Chris Dao-anis

 

PS: I will be launching my newest book on September 10 in Baguio City. You can order your copy now at a special price. Go to www.chrispoweracademy.com/livinglarge

BO SANCHEZ.jpg

What can you say about this post?

